By Blake Deere

To accomplish the mission of conducting some form of prosocial behavior towards an individual, for whom I have never met, was a challenging task to go about completing. I came across the idea of the perfect way to do this. I drove into Tecumseh, MI and proceeded my way to the McDonald’s drive through. After arriving I first gave my order, which irrelevantly was a large iced tea, and then I instructed the drive through attendant to inform me of the price of the order behind me. After being told the amount of the following order, which was approximately eight dollars, I asked the cashier to use the money I gave her, not only for my order by the following one as well. By doing this I was able to conduct the prosocial act for a stranger, while avoiding receiving any type of reward. In my opinion this was the most efficient way to complete my task. After the deed was done I felt fairly content with myself, for the fact that I conducted an act of kindness expecting nothing in return, my intentions felt pure, as did I.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Dr. Michelle Beechler has her Ph.D. in Developmental Psychology from Wayne State University.  For her doctoral dissertation, she studied prosocial behavior using an integrative psychological approach, which is the inspiration for her Prosocial Behavior class. Dr. Beechler will also invite student guests to write blogs, and encourages all students to read, enjoy, and comment!

    Archives

    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All